(L-R) Joe Smith (Co-prospect of the Year), Dave Diamante (Master of Ceremonies), Bobby Bartels (past Ring 8 President), Renaldo Snipes (special award recipient), James “Buddy” McGirt (2-time world champion and past Trainer of the Year), Lennie Mangiapane (former welterweight contender), WBO middleweight champion Peter “Kid Chocolate” Quillin (2012 Ring 8 Fighter of the Year), and Melvina Lathan (Chairperson, New York State Athletic Commission).

(photo by Henry Janousek)

NEW YORK, NY (February 12, 2013) – Despite being delayed two months due to Hurricane Sandy, as well as hampered by Saturday's major snowstorm, this past Sunday's 26th annual RING 8 Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony was a major success by all measures.

Nearly 400 people attended the festivities at Russo's On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York, highlighted by the presentation of the 2012 Ring 8 Fighter of the Year Award to undefeated World Boxing Organization (WBO) middleweight champion Peter “Kid Chocolate” Quillin.

“Despite the snowstorm,” Ring 8 president Bob Duffy said, “almost everybody was able to attend and we all had a good time.”

Popular ring announcer Dave Diamante served as Master of Ceremonies. Joe Calzaghe (Fighter of the Decade) and Bernard Hopkins (Lifetime Achievement Award) were the only award winners unable to attend, respectively, due to a flight cancellation and training camp.

Former heavyweight Renaldo “Mister” Snipes received a special award for his work promoting prostate cancer testing.

In addition to Quillin, other world champion attendees included Bobby Czyz, Iran Barkley, Vito Antuofermo, Tracy Patterson, Jr., and James “Buddy” McGirt, as well as boxing promoter and television reality star, Nicole “Snooki” Polizzi, and the fighter she promotes, world title challenger Patrick Hyland, along with Tommy Gallagher, Vinny Maddalone, Monte Barrett, and Billy Tate, who served as a sparring partner for Sugar Ray Robinson.

Here's a complete list of the 2012 Ring 8 award winners:


2012 RING 8 Award Winners

Fighter of the Year: Peter “Kid Chocolate” Quillin

Fighter of the Decade: Joe Calzaghe

Man of the Year: Frankie Russo, Jr.

Uncrowned Champion: David Sears

Coach of the Year (FDNY):Bob McGuire

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bernard Hopkins

Official of the Year (Referee): Eddie Claudio

Official of the Year (Judge): John Signorile

Boxing Writer of the Year: Michael Woods

Long & Meritorious Service: Ron McNair

Prospects of the Year: Floriano Pagliara & Joe Smith

Comeback of the Year: Adam Willett


About Ring 8: Formed in 1954 by an ex-prizefighter, Jack Grebelsky, Ring 8 became the eighth subsidiary of what was then known as the National Veteran Boxers Association – hence, RING 8 – and today the organization's motto still remains: Boxers Helping Boxers.

RING 8 is fully committed to supporting less fortunate people in the boxing community who may require assistance in terms of paying rent, medical expenses, or whatever justifiable need.

Go on line to www.Ring8ny.com for more information about RING 8, the largest group of its kind in the United States with more than 350 members. Annual membership dues is only $25.00 and each member is entitled to a buffet dinner at RING 8 monthly meetings, the third Tuesday of every month, excluding July and August. All active boxers, amateur and professional, are entitled to a complimentary RING 8 yearly membership.