President's Report – May, 2012.

by Joe Dwyer

In addition to April showers, we also had some fine NABF Title bouts.

In a shocker on April 27 in Austin, Texas, WBC # 2 ranked Ismayl Sillakh was coasting to what appeared to be an easy victory when he was caught with a solid right hand by challenger Denis Grachev, which resulted in Sillakh’s first loss and Grachev’s winning the NABF light heavyweight title by TKO at 2:18 of the eighth round.

On April 14 in Atlantic City, N.J., Garrett Wilson scored a solid KO victory over Andres Taylor in an all-action bout for the vacant NABF cruiserweight title.

Upcoming Fights:

Johnathon Banks will defend the heavyweight title against mandatory challenger Tony Grano; negotiations are in progress at this time.

19 May – Montreal, Canada: Dierry Jean vs Cosme Rivera for the vacant super lightweight title.

26 May – Tucson, AZ: Hanzel Martinez vs Jose German Cruz for the vacant NABF super flyweight title.

7 July – Atlantic City, NJ: Patrick Majewski vs Chris Fitzpatrick for the vacant NABF middleweight title.


Tentative dates are December 3 through 8 at the Gran Oasis, Cancun. We are working with Convention Chairman Chuck Williams in preparing our NABF program at this time. A joint convention will best serve the needs of our members, as it means saving them the expense of attending an additional convention while enjoying the occasion of observing the WBC 50th Anniversary celebration.


It’s time to start planning for next year. Some thoughts include, Florida, Mississippi, Boston, Chicago. Let us know your thoughts!!!

We will have had 37 NABF title bouts in the year since our last convention, a record for NABF title bouts.

Our NABF title is clearly the way to a WBC world title, thanks to the watchful eyes of WBC President Jose Sulaiman, Claude Jackson, Ed Pearson, and the WBC Ratings Committee.

Current WBC Rating of our Champions:

Heavyweight – Johnathon Banks – WBC # 5

Cruiserweight – Garrett Wilson – WBC # 14

Light Heavyweight – Denis Grachev – WBC # 5

Super Middle – Dyah Davis – WBC # 4

Welterweight – Thomas Dulorme – WBC # 3

Lightweight – Hank Lundy – WBC # 2

Super Feather – Diego Magdaleno – WBC # 1

Featherweight – Mikey Garcia – WBC # 2

Super Bantam – Efrain Esquivias – WBC # 18

Bantamweight – Christian Esquivel – WBC # 5

Light Flyweight – Pedro Guevara – WBC # 9

Strawweight – Mario Rodriguez – WBC # 7