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In regards to the championship defense of  the light heavyweight WBC world champion
between Bernard Hopkins and  Chad Dawson, held in Los Angeles, California, in which the
referee  declared a KOT2 against champion Hopkins, as he could not continue due  to an injury
after a push by challenger Dawson, the head offices of the  WBC sent videos, medical reports
and the WBC corresponding Rules to the  Board of Governors that unanimously declared a
Technical Draw on the  fight; therefore, Bernard Hopkins is still the WBC Light heavyweight 
champion of the world.

  

** The  WBC Board of Governors, after reviewing the video of the fight,  unanimously declared
that the action reflects a clear intentional  lifting the body followed with a push by Dawson to
Hopkins that made him  fall on his left side with part of his body out of the ropes.
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**  The California Hospital Medical Center report was also considered by  the Board, which
states "Bernard Hopkins has been released from the  California Medical Center in Los Angeles
after being x-rayed and  examined by Dr. Sam Thurber, MD who diagnosed Hopkins with a
separation  of the acromioclavicular (A-C) joint which connects the collar bone and  shoulder
blade".

  

**   The WBC  considered that point 29 of the Rule WC-34, related to fouls was  violated: "Any
rough tactics other than clean punches", covered the  ruling of the WBC. 
WBC rule  WC-32 was followed for the Boards consideration: "Injuries from head  butts, elbows,
or other accidental or illegal actions (injury). The  following description applies to injuries from
not only head butts and  elbows, but from any other accidental or illegal action as well.

  

If the bout can not continue:
* There will be a point deduction
* Technical draw if before the start of the 5th round
* Technical decision as per scorecards, (if after the fifth).

  

Article  WC-33 was also considered:  **Body Fouls -- except as provided below,  there will be no
disqualification for fouls to the body. The referee, at  his discretion, determines that there was a
foul and the ring doctor  determines that the fouled boxer cannot continue, the offending boxer 
will be disqualified.  If the doctor determines the fouled boxer can  continue fighting but he does
not continue, he will lose by abandonment.

  

In  conclusion, after examining thoroughly the video of the fight and the  medical report, as well
as the corresponding rules, the WBC Board of  Governors decided unanimously to declare the
bout as a technical draw  and consider Bernard Hopkins still as the WBC Light heavyweight
champion  of the world; the WBC regrets its unavailability of implementing the  instant video
replay at the fight, due to the fact that the California  Commission does not have that rule.  
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The  WBC respects and can not intervene in the decisions of the boxing  commissions where
the fights happen, but it does intervene in regards of  the recognition of a WBC title of the world,
by being the exclusive  owners of the trademark and championship accolades- We hope that
the  California commission will review our ruling on their next meeting in  December.

  

Jose Sulaiman 
President
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