Sergio Mora liked the direction the way his title shot opp was going Saturday night at Barclays Center and on ESPN even though Danny Jacobs nailed him in the first and sent him to the mat. He returned that favor but then it went off the rails in round two. Middleweight titlist Jacobs went at him and as the Cali boxer backed up he tumbled awkwardly and wrenched his right knee and heard his right ankle pop.
Mora got up but it was obvious he was severely impacted. The ref ended it and declared Jacobs a stoppage winner. Not cool, thought Mora. He explains to TSS:
“I’m gathering facts on No Contest rules and speaking with a well known NY attorney now. There is evidence of NC. Injury wasn’t due to punch.”
Unified rules state that if an injury, such as an ankle fracture, is caused by a punch then the injured party is declared the loser. But it is up for debate whether a Jacobs punch caused the leg damage. And besides, replay shows maybe one Jacobs launch landed behind Mora’s head…
“NY permits video replay in cases,” Mora continued. “I believe I have a good case. I will know more soon.”