The time is near, it’s almost here, the big one, y’all.

No, not that big one!

I’m talking the Boxing Writers Assocation of America awards gala, which runs Friday night in dear old New York City.

Have you not heard? Come one, come all, snap up a ticket and attend the 90th fete!

Dress unsloppily, and hit Capitale, at 130 Bowery, NY, NY, on Friday, April 24, 2015. Tickets are still available ya know…

Ex prez Bernard Fernandez clues us in on some specifics: “Some of the special guests who have committed to attending are Bernard Hopkins, Roy Jones Jr. and Gennady Golovkin,” he said. “It looks like a done deal that WBC heavyweight champ Deontay Wilder will be there, too. The 2014 BWAA Fighter of the Year, Terence Crawford, who will be there to accept his award, captured the WBO super lightweight title by knocking out Thomas Dulorme just this past weekend. The BWAA Awards Dinner is open to the public and tickets are $200 for non-BWAA members. There are special VIP tickets priced at $400, which come with some additional perks. Fans attending not only can attend the dinner, but the cocktail hour from 6-7:30 p.m. where they can meet and greet the celebs, take pictures with them and get autographs.”

For ticket information, please refer to the BWAA website at, or contact Gina Adriolo at 917-312-6418 (, or Joseph Santoliquito at

Here is a list of the winners: Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of the Year
Terence Crawford. Bud will be present..

Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award Fight of the Year
Lucas Matthysse-John Molina

Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year
Freddie Roach. I heard Freddie has some other stuff going on, lol, that might necessitate a fill-in accepting his bauble.

Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year
Al Haymon. Should he maybe be given disruptor of the year? Regardless, I’m not holding my breathe that Mr. H will pick up his trophy in person…but this is boxing, I’d say stranger things have happened!

Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award
Dan Goossen. This presentation will be moving…

Nat Fleischer Award Excellence in Boxing Journalism
Mark Whicker

A.J. Liebling Award Outstanding Boxing Writing
Ira Berkow

Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism
Seth Abraham

Barney Nagler Award Long and Meritorious Service
Jack Hirsch. Damn straight, ole Jack toiled long and hard in a thankless role and deserves this spotlight session.

Bill Crawford Courage Award
Steve & Livvy Cunningham. Again, expect emotions to be running high during this presentation.

Oh, and not to be looked past, TSS’s Springs Toledo will need a wheelbarrow to bring home his writing awards. No other site, no, not even big old ESPN, had as many award winners as, so I won’t pretend false humility, because I’m proud of my writers, and their efforts!