Tix On Sale For April 11 Boxing Writers Awards Dinner

NEW YORK (March 11, 2013) — Tickets are on sale for the 88th annual Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) awards dinner on Thursday night, April 11 at Capitale in New York City.

Tickets are priced at $200.00 per person, $150.00 for BWAA members. Tables of 10 are available to purchase for $2,000.00. A limited number of special VIP tickets are also available for $400.00 per person and $4,000.00 for a table of 10. VIP tickets include premium seat at dinner, photo opportunity with honorees, and a special VIP gift. Credit card (Mastercard, Visa and American Express), PayPal, check and money order payments must be received no later than March 31, 2013. Checks should be payable to the BWAA and mailed to Boxing Writers Association of America, PO Box 153, Rockaway Park, NY 11694.

‘The response to the upcoming banquet has been great,” BWAA President Jack Hirsch said. “By now people understand that the BWAA dinner serves as the Academy Awards of our sport. We have an exceptional list of honorees, but our list of presenters is awesome as well. That will be made public before the dinner. Everyone attending the dinner receives a gift bag which has a total value close to the price of the dinner ticket. From a social perspective, the annual BWAA dinner is by far our sports best social evening of the year. We always sell out in New York. I strongly advise anyone planning to attend to buy their tickets early.”


2012 BWAA Award Winners

Nonito Donaire                                                    The Sugar Ray Robinson Award     Fighter of the Year

Robert Garcia                                                     The Eddie Futch Award                   Trainer of the Year

Juan Manuel Marguez – Manny Pacquiao IV          The Ali-Frazier Award                      Fight of the Year

Al Haymon                                                                The Cus D’Amato Award                   Manager of the Year

Kathy Duva & Bruce Trampler                           The Barney Nagler Award                Long & Meritorious Service

Steve Farhood                                                         The Marvin Kohn Award                            Good Guy

Danny Jacobs                                                The Bill Crawford Award                  Courage Overcoming Adversity

Peter Finney                                                        The A.J. Liebling Award                  Outstanding Boxing Writer

Dave Kindred                                                             The Nat Fleischer Award                   Excellence In Boxing Journalism

Max Kellerman                                                      The Sam Taub Award                               Excellence in Broadcast Journalism


Bernie Award Winners for boxing writing will also be announced and presented. A silent auction will be held. Individuals and companies may send items to be auctioned to Andriolo Communications, 1215 76th St., Brooklyn, NY 11228. Those donating items for the Silent Auction will be listed in the event journal and may display their business cards or promotional material on the Silent Auction table.

Cocktails are available at 6:00 p.m. ET, followed at 7:30 p.m. ET by dinner and the awards ceremony.

Event journal advertisements are available, ranging from $400.00 for a ¼ page (B&W) to $3,000.00 for the outside back cover (color). The deadline is March 25, 2013. Contact Ricardo Salazar for ad details and specifics at 973.207.5236 or 973.481.0253 / omrboxing@aol.com.

For further information to online to www.bwaa.org, call or email Gina Andriolo, Event Coordinator at 917.312.6418/ginaandcom@aol.com or Jack Hirsch, BWAA President, at 516.790.7592/ajhirsch5@aol.com.