Malignaggi Wins Title (TKO9) In Ukraine, Over Senchenko

GoldenboyPaul Malignaggi, left for the professional dead two years ago when he was stopped by Amir Khan, showed he has some life left, and then some, when he stopped Vyachesalv Senchenko in round nine in the Ukraine, and snagged the loser's WBA welterweight crown on Sunday.

The Brooklyn-bred hitter, who now lives in LA, outboxed the champ through eight, and was up maybe 6-2. Or so an unbiased watcher might think. Would judges in the Ukraine rule against the hometown guy? Malignaggi made that question immaterial when he had the left eye of Senchenko a mess, which forced ref Steve Smoger to end the tussle.

The victor is now 31-4, and can pick and choose a money fight at 147. The 35 year-old loser drops to 32-1.

Comment on this article

COMMENTS

Radam G :

The "threatre of the unexpected" is on its job. So is Paul "Magic" Malignaggi. Much luv to him. Enough said! Holla!


dino da vinci :

The "threatre of the unexpected" is on its job. So is Paul "Magic" Malignaggi. Much luv to him. Enough said! Holla!
Ditto the G-Man.


ali :

Can't believe Paul got a TKO but I don't want to see him fight any of the top guys at 147.


the Roast :

More Paulie? Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!