Keith Sullivan To Be Honored Sunday at Ring 8 (NYC) Gala


ring-825th annual Ring 8 Holiday & Awards Ceremony Dec. 18 in New York City

Roy Jones, Jr., John Ruiz, Tomasz Adamek & Emanuel Steward among award winners


NEW YORK, NY (Nov. 30, 2011) – The 25th annual RING 8 Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony will be held Sunday afternoon (12:30-5:30 PM/ET), December 18 at Russo's On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York.

A star-studded group of past and present world champions and industry dignitaries will be in attendance. Steve Farhood will serve as Master of Ceremonies, while Dave Diamante will announce the award winners.

RING 8 was formed in 1954 by an ex-prizefighter, Jack Grebelsky, and it became the eighth subsidiary of what was then known as the National Veteran Boxers Association — hence, RING “8” — and today the organization's motto remains: Boxers Helping Boxers.

“We're excited to be celebrating the silver anniversary of the RING 8 Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony,” RING 8 president Bob Duffy said. “We continue our proud record of lending a helping hand to those in the boxing community who are less fortunate and may require assistance in terms of paying their rent, medical expenses, or whatever justifiable need. Our Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony celebrates our great sport of boxing and insures that much-needed funding is raised so we may continue our mission for our needy brothers and sisters in boxing. We will never waver from their corners. With all of these outstanding boxers and award winners, we're confident that this will be our most successful event.”      


Fighter of the Decade (nineties) — Roy Jones, Jr.

Fight of the Year: Delvin Rodriguez vs. Pawel Wolak

First Hispanic Heavyweight Champion of the World: John Ruiz

Outstanding Achievement Award – Tomasz Adamek

Trainer of the Decade: Emanuel Steward

Ring 8 Promoter of the Year: Ziggy Rozalski

Uncrowned Champion: Michael DeLaRue

Longevity Service to Amateur Boxing: Frank Pena

Humanitarian Award: Jill Diamond

Amateur Boxer of the Year: Marcus Brown

Ring 8 Member of the Year: Keith Sullivan

Official of the Year: Ralph Petrillo

Ring 8 Boxing Historian: Henry Hascup

Manager of the Year: Philip Pilevsky

In addition to Jones, Ruiz and Adamek, other invited former world champion quests include Mark Breland, Juan LaPorte, Virgil “Quicksilver” Hill, Lonnie Bradley, Kathy “Wildcat” Collins, Iran “The Blade” Barkley and Junior “Poison” Jones, as well unbeaten, present IBF super featherweight champion Amanda “The Real Deal” Serrano and NABF light welterweight titlist Gabriel “Tito” Bracero, and from the 'The Contender” television reality series, trainer Tommy Gallagher.

Tickets, priced at $125.00 per person, are available to purchase by calling 1.718.729.4862, emailing or mailing checks (payable to Ring 8) to Tony Mazzarella, C/O Waterfront Crab House, 2-03 Borden Ave., Long Island, NY 11101. Donations of any denomination are welcome for those unable to attend the festivities.

Tickets include a complete brunch with cocktail hour upon entry, seating at the awards ceremony, dinner and dessert, and top-shelf open bar throughout the afternoon. There will also be a silent auction of boxing memorabilia. This event is expected to sell-out and everybody is urged to purchase tickets as soon as possible in order to secure favorable seating. Boxing and sports memorabilia will be on display.

Comment on this article