DEERFIELD BEACH, Florida (April 26, 2005)—WBO junior middleweight champion Daniel “El Pillin” Santos signed an exclusive promotional agreement with Don King Productions today.

“Daniel is another proud Puerto Rican world champion and I’m excited to have him with me,” promoter Don King said. “Junior middleweight is a solid division and there are many fights we can make for this great champion. Viva Puerto Rico!”

Santos last victory came against Antonio Margarito when they met on September 11, 2004, in Hato Rey, Puerto Rico. An accidental clash of heads sent the fight to the scorecards in round nine. Santos was declared the winner.

“This is one of the happiest days of my life,” Santos said at the signing. “I want to fight all the best fighters and by being with the best promoter, I know I will get those fights and make good money. I look forward to a long and happy relationship with Don King.”

Santos, (29-2-1, 20 KOs), from Bayamon, Puerto Rico, is a hard-punching southpaw who won the WBO welterweight title when he stopped Ahmed Kotiev in Neuss, Germany, on May 6, 2000. After two successful title defenses, he moved up to 154-pounds, winning the vacant WBO title with an eleventh round technical knockout over rugged Mexican “Yory Boy” Campas in Las Vegas on May 3, 2002. He has successfully defended his title four times.

Respected trainer and fellow Puerto Rican Felix Trinidad Sr. has been very impressed with Santos and said he is open to the idea of Tito Trinidad facing Santos.

“He beat Margarito, who stopped Cintron in very convincing fashion last Saturday, and has to be considered one of boxing’s best champions,” Trinidad said. “It’s possible that Tito and Santos could meet in an all-Puerto Rican mega-fight in the future.”

Although no immediate opponents have been named, some of the biggest names in the sport are currently campaigning between junior middleweight and middleweight, including Cory “The Next Generation” Spinks, Ricardo “El Matador” Mayorga, “The Golden Boy” Oscar De La Hoya, Kassim Ouma, “Sugar” Shane Mosley, Javier Castillejo, “Ferocious” Fernando Vargas, Winky Wright, Bernard Hopkins and Trinidad.