LAS VEGAS (January 8, 2006) – Two-time former world heavyweight champion of the world John “The Quietman” Ruiz (41-6-1, 28 KOs) has petitioned the World Boxing Association for an immediate rematch against Nicolay Valuev for the WBA heavyweight title. Last month, as most of us know, Ruiz lost a controversial decision to the Russian giant in Berlin.
Ruiz’s petition is based on the WBA’s rule 7.3 (see below) that allows for a rematch based on a controversial decision in a championship match. Valuev won the 12-round fight and the WBA heavyweight title with scores of 114-114, 116-114 and 116-113.
“I’m focusing on our WBA petition,” said Ruiz, whose ring moniker, “The Quietman,” needs to be changed in ’06. “I enjoyed everything about our trip to Germany other than the decision. The German people were great to me. I deserve a rematch and would fight him again in Germany if I had to. I remember thinking midway through the fight that it was the easiest fight I’d had in a long time. I couldn’t believe it when the decision was announced. The fans in Germany booed the decision. I felt I won the fight. You’re supposed to take the title from the champion; they gave it to him. I’ll continue fighting until I feel it’s time for me to retire. I’ll retire on my terms. Right now I’m looking forward to my next fight and want it to be for the title against Valuev.”
After a review of Compubox’s PunchStat Report for Ruiz-Valuev, which HBO uses for its broadcasts, revealed that Ruiz clearly was the clearly the aggressor, holding advantages against Valuev in terms of total punches landed (195-157), and power shots landed (128 of 194 versus 43 of 184). According to Compubox, Ruiz outpunched Valuev in 8 of the 12 rounds. Valuev received 7 warnings from referee Stanley Christodoulou, for holding and lots of leaning, although no penalties were deducted, and Valuev clinched 76 times compared to Ruiz’s 29. Most ringside observers felt Ruiz dominated the 12th and final round, as the punch-stats indicate: Ruiz landed 18 of 41 punches thrown (44% connect rate) and 11 power shots versus Valuev’s 7 punches landing out of 44 thrown, and only 4 power shots (16%) connecting. Valuev, despite the computational evidence, was given a 10-9 score on two of the judges’ scorecards, while the third scored the round 10-10.
WBA Rule 7.3
If a championship match ends in a draw or if the match is extremely close and one of the contenders receives a controversial decision regarding the other, the World Championships Committee, at its discretion, may recommend that the two (2) boxers be ordered to fight again for the Championship, within a period to be set by the World Championships Committee.
Who's the best Mexican boxer today?